
• THE OGRE MERCENARY •
The Ogre Mercenary does not gain special skills with new
Battle-Levels, though he may gain Specialist Actions normally.
There are a number of special rules that apply to the Ogre
Mercenary, as follows.

The Alehouse
 When or if your Warrior should visit the Alehouse, roll 2D6
to determine the results of that visit.

One Size Doesn't Fit All
Ogres are significantly larger then men, let alone Dwarves,
and therefore can’t wear the same articles of clothing or armor.
If any armor or clothing items (such as Boots of Swiftness)
are found as treasure, it is a given that the Ogre cannot use
them.  (Of course, the GM is able to make exceptions in a
moderated game.)

If he buys armor or clothing, it costs twice the normal sale
value, and he must add +2 to the “Stock” value to determine
the chance of finding such an item.  If Ogre armor is sold, it
still only gets the normal resale value (as, while it’s bigger
with more material, there are very few Ogre customers).

Mounts and Carts
An Ogre cannot ride a mount — He’d squash the poor thing!
He may still purchase a mule, horse or warhorse to carry his
gear, but he gains no bonus to fight rolls for having a warhorse.
He’s too big to ride along in a cart, so if the other Warriors
have one, he’ll have to catch up at his own pace.

Settlement Events
The Ogre may be a strong and fearsome warrior, but these
very qualities (combined with his gruff nature) also make him
a prime candidate for expulsion from any Settlement.  If any
Event should come up in a Settlement  that involves a fight
the Warrior cannot avoid (such as 11 Thrown Out (and getting
“fleeced), 14 Good Deed, 21 Fight, 25 Reward (where the
merchant is a charlatan), etc.) where the result indicates that
the Ogre is going to have to forfeit a portion of his Gold and/
or treasure as a result, he may bully his way out of the
situation, not having to part with the normal expenses, but is
forced to leave the Settlement immediately, as the town guard
is not pleased with the ensuing violence.

Intellect
If you are using the house rules for Intelligence, the Ogre is
particularly slow of mind, and has a -2 to starting Intelligence,
but no lower than 0.

Otherwise, if you’re sticking to the regular rules, the Ogre
simply has a penalty of -1 to all “Intellectual” Initiative tests,
on top of any other penalties or bonuses.

Large Size
The Ogre model occupies four spaces, as he is a large, bulky
creature.  He may still move normally, as if he only occupied
a single space, but his presence can still make things
cramped.

If a pit should be encountered that occupies a single space,
the Ogre is too large to fall in.  Rather, he is only tripped by

the trap, losing his next turn while he gets back up, but does
not take any damage from the fall, nor does he need a rope
to get out.

The Ogre is also handy for moving other Warriors around,
due to his size.  Instead of moving or taking any other action
for the turn, he may pull or lift a Warrior out of a pit, without
having to use the rope.

Ogres and Fear
Ogres are fear-causing creatures, and it is rare for the
Monsters to be on the receiving end of this.  If Monsters are
encountered that do not cause Fear or Terror, they must make
a Fear check as a group against the Ogre's Fear rating (equal
to its Battle-Level plus 4).  Treat the Monsters' "Battle Level"
equal to the table number they were rolled from (if random),
or use a default value of 1.

If Monsters are encountered that cause Fear, but have a lower
rating than the Ogre, they must make a Fear test, but may
add their own Fear rating to their Battle-Level for purposes
of the test.  The Ogre is in a similar situation if he encounters
Fear-causing monsters with a higher rating than himself,
having to make a Fear test, but adding +4 to his Battle-Level
for purposes of determining the results.  (He also gets this
bonus when testing against Terror.)

Terror-causing creatures are unaffected by Fear at all.

Monsters are at -1 to hit the Ogre if they fail their Fear test.
For enemy spellcasters, they may cast spells normally, but
when randomly determining the target, they will always choose
a different target in preference.  If the Ogre is the only
available target, they attack normally.


